We Will Rock 2!

Welcome to Mrs. Lang's classroom!

Horrible Harry in Room 2B

October16

My husband and son are both at work and my daughter is not home right now so what am I doing? Playing catch up!

Last week we read a book called Horrible Harry in Room 2B. It’s a series of books and Harry is a boy in grade 2 who’s just a little bit on the mischievous side! This week, I did a directed drawing with the kids and asked them the question, “Would you want to be friends with Harry?” in which they had to reply with reasons using information from the story. For example, some said they wouldn’t want him as a friend because they were afraid he might wave a snake in their face. This happens in the book, it’s a fake snake but apparently that was the thing they remembered most! My favourite was the one who said they wanted to be friends with Harry so they could teach him to be nice!

The directed drawing goes as follows. I give them directions step-by-step, one part at a time until we have the outline done and then they colour it. I encourage them to outline with black as it makes the picture pop! Here’s the step-by-step that I did with the kids. I should also mention that I can’t take credit for this as it’s from a teacher I follow online.

HowToDraw

 

And here’s the awesome results from your children! Aren’t they amazing! And I love the things they wrote! You might have to wait until they go home to read, not sure you’ll be able to make it out.

HorribleHarry5    HorribleHarry1

HorribleHarry2     HorribleHarry3

HorribleHarry4

By the way, I should mention as well that if you want to share these with other family, they are most welcome to subscribe to the site.  Don’t be afraid to leave comments about their work as well. I’m sure they will love if I project the site in class and they get feedback!

by posted under Uncategorized | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“Horrible Harry in Room 2B”

  1. October 19th, 2015 at 3:48 am      Reply Ed Knicely Says:

    Love it!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar